Français  |   English  

Home page > BasArt > What is BasArt?

What is BasArt?

A Georeferenced Historical Database

 
 
BasArt collects, standardizes, and, where necessary, quantifies, stores and makes available in a variety of ways, including for machine-to-machine automatic interaction, information found in art historians’ traditional primary sources, namely exhibition catalogues, catalogues raisonnés, auction catalogues, gallery directories, publishing catalogues, etc.
 
Organized in a PostGIS database, this historical data can be statistically analyzed and processed through both traditional, desktop-based GIS software and through web-based spatial services and analytic platforms (see F. de Maupeou and L. Saint‑Raymond’s contribution to Artl@s Bulletin, Volume I, Issue 1 (Fall 2012): 41‑47).
 

A Platform for Digital Collaboration

BasArt is a collaborative project. Users are contributors. BasArt is continuously growing and expanding as the scholars who are using it add to it. Note that its enrichment follows strict criteria: any data entered must be sourced, linked to its authors, and verified by a scientific committee.
 
Furthermore, contributing researchers receive feedback and converse with the committee, which ensures healthy two-way communication and gives participants an incentive to improve the project’s data. This process also guarantees the validity of the information found in the database.
 
In addition, Artl@s contributors receive more than they contribute; when they share their data, they are granted access to data sets that have been entered in the database by other scholars. BasArt thus creates strong incentives for sharing information and provides a platform for digital collaboration.
 
An Innovative Relational Database
 
The significance of BasArt is that it centralizes and further disseminates information which art historians have at their disposal but do not have the means to process on their own.
 
Its strength rests on its relational capacity, which automatically connects data entered by different scholars working on different projects, thereby generating new data. For example, as information is added we may discover that an individual who collected works by this and that artist also wrote in this journal and worked in the building of that gallery.
 
BasArt is therefore an indispensable tool for precise and comprehensive information on dates, places, titles, names, etc. that cannot be found elsewhere. It also has the capacity to automatically georeference addresses entered, even if they no longer exist.
 
 
 
Project Management: Béatrice Joyeux-Prunel, Catherine Dossin, and Léa Saint-Raymond  
 
BasArt Design and Programming: Yann Le Boulanger.
Query and Visualization Interface: Yann Le Boulanger, and the Artlas Team, under the direction of B. Joyeux-Prunel and C.Dossin.
 
SPIP | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0

Français  |   English  

Accueil du site > BasArt > What is BasArt ?

Qu’est-ce que BasArt ?

BasArt, une base de données historiques géoréférencées

BasArt rassemble, met en forme, quantifie lorsque nécessaire, sauvegarde et rend accessible par une variété de moyens (dont les interactions « machine to machine ») les informations trouvées dans les sources traditionnelles d’histoire de l’art, catalogues d’exposition, catalogues raisonnés, catalogues de vente, fichiers de galeries, catalogues d’éditeurs etc.

Organisées dans une base de données SIG, ces données historiques peuvent être analysées quantitativement et traitées à la fois par des logiciels SIG traditionnels et par des plateformes analytiques de services de spatialisation numériques (voir F. de Maupeou et L. Saint‑Raymond, Artl@s Bulletin, Année I, n° 1 (Automne 2012), p. 41-47).

Une plateforme numérique de collaboration

BasArt est un projet collaboratif. La base se développe à mesure que les chercheurs l’utilisent et la remplissent. Son enrichissement suit des critères stricts : chaque donnée qui y est ajoutée doit être reliée à sa source, à ses auteurs et vérifiée par un comité scientifique.

Plus encore, les chercheurs qui contribuent à BasArt ont des retours de la part du comité et s’entretiennent avec ses membres, ce qui assure une communication dans les deux sens et motive les participants pour améliorer les données du projet. Cette procédure garantit également la validité des informations contenues dans la base.

Les contributeurs d’Artl@s reçoivent plus que leur contribution : quand ils partagent leurs données, ils ont accès à celles d’autres chercheurs. BasArt constitue donc une source de motivations importante pour le partage d’informations et fournit une plateforme numérique de collaboration.

Une base de données relationnelle innovante

Le principe de BasArt est de centraliser puis diffuser des informations que les historiens de l’art ont à leur disposition mais qu’ils n’ont pas les moyens de traiter eux-mêmes.

Sa force repose sur ses capacités relationnelles, qui relient automatiquement entre elles les données entrées par différents chercheurs travaillant sur différents projets, générant de nouvelles données. Par exemple alors que l’information est ajoutée à la base, on peut découvrir qu’un individu qui a collectionné des œuvres de tel et tel artiste a également écrit dans tel journal et travaillé dans tel immeuble à côté de telle galerie.

BasArt est ainsi un outil indispensable à une information précise et complète sur les dates, les lieux, les titres, les noms etc. qui ne peuvent pas être trouvés ailleurs. BasArt a également la capacité de géoréférencer automatiquement les adresses qui y sont ajoutées, même si celles-ci n’existent plus de nos jours.

 

Direction du projet : Béatrice Joyeux-Prunel, Catherine Dossin et Léa Saint-Raymond

Conception et réalisation de la structure de BasArt : Yann Le Boulanger.

Conception de l’interface d’interrogation et de visualisation : Thomas Pierrot

 

 

SPIP | | Plan du site | Suivre la vie du site RSS 2.0