Français  |   English  

Home page > Seminar > Artistic Circulations in and beyond Latin America, 2013-2014 > Circulations artistiques intra et extra Amériques, et autres

Artistic Circulation Within and Beyond the Americas

For a spatial and transnational history of 19th and 20th century art

The Artlas project aims to train young researchers to address the problems of a global art history from a transnational and circulatory perspective. It is designed as a workshop for understanding quantitative and cartographic methodologies, while also attending to the artistic and cultural transfers implied by the circulation of ideas, strategies, exhibitions, and texts. We also encourage young researchers to interweave apparently “distant” (Franco Moretti) empirical approaches with very precise interpretations of works of art.

The 2013-2014 year will turn primarily to the study of the circulation of 20 Latin American art and artists, both across the region and beyond it, but the general theme does not prevent the presentation of work on other geographical areas (Japan, Italy, Central Europe, and others) nor various topics (including historiography, sculpture, the history of museums, cinema, and the theme of trans-space) introduced by foreign researchers and guests of the team’s teachers who will be visiting Paris at Artlas’s invitation.

Seminar : Béatrice Joyeux-Prunel , Ecole Normale Superieure .

With the collaboration of Daniel Quiles (Artlas), Michela Passini (CNRS / IHMC )
and Catherine Dossin (Purdue University)

 

Artlas provides researchers with access to Basart, a database that includes catalogues of fairs and exhibitions of modern art from the late 19th century to the present and can produce quantitative interface mapping with this data. The seminars are part of a more general activity of international conferences and publications, including the Artlas Bulletin (a multilingual, peer-reviewed journal). In addition to art historians, the seminar also hosts sociologists, geographers, literary critics, and film and theater historians. 

Validation for the seminar is customized according to the interests of the student. The seminar is intended for students who have begun research in art history, social science, geography, or related fields.

 

ENS, 45 rue d’ Ulm, Institute of Modern and Contemporary History (Stair D, 3rd floor, at the bottom left) 

Semester 1 and Semester 2: fortnightly Thursdays, 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.:

26 September, 10 and 24 October, 7 and 21 November, 5 and 19 December 2013, 16 and 30 January, 13 and 27 February, 13 and 27 March, 10 and 22 April, 5 May, and 5 and 19 June 2014.

SPIP | | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0

Français  |   English  

Accueil du site > Séminaire > Circulations artistiques en et hors Amérique latine, 2013-2014 > Circulations artistiques intra et extra Amériques, et autres

Circulations artistiques intra et extra Amériques, et autres

Pour une histoire spatiale et transnationale des arts, 19e-20e siècles

Le projet artl@s vise à former les jeunes chercheurs aux problématiques de l’histoire mondiale de l’art, dans une perspective transnationale et circulatoire. Il est conçu comme un atelier où l’on peut se former aussi bien à des approches quantitative ou cartographique, qu’à l’étude des circulations artistiques et des transferts culturels impliqués par ces circulations. Nous incitons aussi les jeunes chercheurs à mettre en relation ces approches « distantes » (Franco Moretti) avec une interprétation très précise des œuvres.

L’année 2013-2014 sera tournée majoritairement vers l’étude des circulations artistiques intérieures et extérieures à l’Amérique latine au 20e siècle, mais ce thème général n’empêchera pas la présentation de travaux portant sur des aires géographiques (Japon, Italie et Europe centrale, espace transpacifique) et des thèmes différents (notamment historiographie, sculpture, histoire des musées, cinéma), selon la présence à Paris de chercheurs et professeurs invités étrangers liés à l’équipe.

Séminaire de Béatrice Joyeux-Prunel, Ecole normale supérieure.

Avec la collaboration de Daniel Quiles (artl@s), Michela Passini (CNRS/IHMC)
et Catherine Dossin (Purdue University)

Semestre 1 et Semestre 2, par quinzaine jeudi 13h30-15h30

ENS, 45 rue d’Ulm, salle de l’Institut d’Histoire moderne et contemporaine (Escalier D, 3e étage, au fond à gauche)

  

 

Le séminaire s’adresse aux étudiants qui ont entamé des recherches en histoire de l’art, en sciences sociales et en géographie, ou envisagent de s’y consacrer.

 

artl@s fournit aux chercheurs un accès à BasArt, une base de données qui regroupe des catalogues de salons et d’expositions d’art moderne depuis la fin du 19e siècle, ainsi qu’à une interface de travail cartographique et quantitatif liée à BasArt. Les séminaires s’inscrivent dans une activité plus générale de colloques internationaux et de publications, notamment via la revue Artl@s-Bulletin (revue multilingue à comité de lecture).

 

Le séminaire accueille aussi bien des historiens de l’art que des sociologues, des géographes, des spécialistes de littérature, de cinéma, de théâtre ou des historiens. La validation est personnalisée selon les intérêts de l’étudiant.

 

Dates du séminaire :

 

26 septembre, 10 octobre, 24 octobre, 7 nov, 21 nov, 5 déc et 19 déc. 2013 ; 16 janv, 30 janv, 13 fév, 27 fév, 13 mars, 27 mars, 10 avril, 22 mai, 5 juin et 19 juin 2014.

 

 

SPIP | | Plan du site | Suivre la vie du site RSS 2.0